ITIL Service Design


ITIL Service Design

Service Design Certificate is not only a free-standing qualification, but also part of the ITIL Intermediate Lifecycle stream, and one of the modules that leads to the ITIL Expert Certificate in IT Service Management. The purpose of this training module and the associated exam and certificate is respectively, to impart, test, and validate the knowledge on industry practices in Service Management as documented in the ITIL Service Design publication.


Insights about ITIL Service Design Training Courses

Target Candidate
Exam Format

Syllabus of Service Design Training Course

  • Introduction to Service Design
  • Service Design Principles
  • Service Design Processes
  • Service Design Technology-related activities
  • Organizing for Service Design
  • Technology Consideration

Course Objective

This qualification provides a complete management-level overview of service design, including all its related activities.

Candidates can expect to gain competencies in the following upon successful completion of the education and examination components related to this certification:

► Introduction to Service Design
► Service Design principles
► Service Design processes
► Service Design technology-related activities
► Organizing for Service Design
► Technology consideration
► Implementation and improvement of Service Design
► Challenges, Critical Success Factors and Risks

In addition, the training for this certification should include examination preparation, including a mock examination opportunity.


The main target group for the ITIL Intermediate qualification Service Operation Certificate includes, but is not restricted to:

► Chief Information Officers (CIOs)
► Chief Technology Officers (CTOs)
► Managers
► Supervisory Staff
► Team Leaders
► Service Designers
► IT Architects
► IT Planners
► IT Consultants
► IT Audit Managers
► IT Security Managers
► ITSM trainers involved in the ongoing management, co-ordination and integration of operation activities within the Service Lifecycle
► Individuals who require a detailed understanding of the ITIL Service Operation stage of the ITIL Service Lifecycle and how it may be implemented to enhance the quality if IT service provision within an organization
► IT professionals working within or about to enter a Service Operation environment and requiring an understanding of the concepts, processes, functions and activities involved

► Individuals who have attained the ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management and wish to advice to higher level ITIL Certifications
► Individuals seeking the ITIL Expert Certification in IT Service Management for which this qualification can be one of the prerequisite modules
► Individuals seeking progress toward the ITIL Master Certificate in IT Service Management for which the ITIL Expert is a prerequisite

Course Outline

LEARNING UNIT 1: Introduction to Service Design
LEARNING UNIT 2: Service Design Principles
LEARNING UNIT 3: Service Design Processes
LEARNING UNIT 4: Service Design Technology related activities
LEARNING UNIT 5: Organizing for Service Design
LEARNING UNIT 6: Organizing for Service Operation
LEARNING UNIT 7: Implementation and Improvement of Service Design
LEARNING UNIT 8: Challenges, Risks and Critical Success Factor

Additional information


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “ITIL Service Design”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *